Return Home

The 2019 Philip K. Dick Nominees

Tuesday, January 15th, 2019 | Posted by John ONeill

Alien Virus Love Disaster-small Time Was Ian McDonald-small THE BODY LIBRARY by Jeff Noon-small

The nominees for the 2019 Philip K. Dick Award, given each year for distinguished science fiction originally published in paperback in the United States, have been announced. They are (links will take you to our previous coverage):

Time Was by Ian McDonald (
The Body Library by Jeff Noon (Angry Robot)
84K by Claire North (Orbit)
Alien Virus Love Disaster: Stories by Abbey Mei Otis (Small Beer Press)
Theory of Bastards by Audrey Schulman (Europa Editions)
Ambiguity Machines and Other Stories by Vandana Singh (Small Beer Press)

Special shout-out to Small Beer Press for placing two fine collections on the ballot.

Last year’s nominees were announced on January 15th, the winner was Bannerless by Carrie Vaughn, with a special citation to After The Flare by Deji Bryce Olukotun. Our previous coverage of the award includes:

2011 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced
The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack wins 2011 Philip K. Dick Award
The 2014 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees
2015 Philip K. Dick Award Winners Announced
The 2016 Philip K. Dick Nominees
Ramez Naam’s Apex Wins 2016 Philip K. Dick Award
The 2018 Philip K. Dick Nominees

The winner will be announced on Friday, April 19, 2019 at Norwescon 42 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Seattle Airport, SeaTac, Washington. See more details at the 2019 Philip K. Dick Award website.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

No Comments »

No comments yet.

Comments RSS  |  TrackBack URI


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Black Gate Home
This site © 2020 by New Epoch Press. All rights reserved.