Return Home

Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence Wins the 2014 David Gemmell Legend Award

Saturday, June 14th, 2014 | Posted by John ONeill

Emperor of Thorns-smallMark Lawrence’s Emperor of Thorns, the final volume of The Broken Empire trilogy, has won the David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel of 2013.

The David Gemmell Legend Award (DGLA) is a fan-voted award administered by the DGLA. This is its sixth year; it was first granted in 2009.

The DGLA also recognizes the top debut fantasy of the year and best cover art. This year, the Morningstar Award for Best Debut Novel went to Brian McLellan for Promise of Blood and Jason Chan received the Ravenheart Award for Best Cover Art for his cover for Emperor of Thorns.

The nominees for the 2014 Legend award also included The Daylight War by Peter V Brett, The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch, A Memory of Light by Brandon Sanderson & Robert Jordan, and War Master’s Gate by Adrian Tchaikovsky. See the complete list here.

The previous winners of the award were:

Andrzej Sapkowski’s Blood of Elves (2009)
Graham McNeill’s Empire: The Legend of Sigmar (2010)
Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings (2011)
Patrick Rothfuss’ The Wise Man’s Fear (2012)
Brent Weeks’s The Blinding Knife (2013)

Complete details are available at the DGLA website.

Congratulations to all the winners!


  1. Interesting to note that while this year’s Nebula winners were women* the authors nominated for the Gemmell award are all male.

    * ie, in the categories that really counted; novel, novella, novelette and short story.

    Comment by Aonghus Fallon - June 17, 2014 5:38 am

  2. Good point, Aonghus. There are some excellent women writers of adventure fantasy — Violette Malan, Seanan McGuire, Patricia Briggs, Sherwood Smith, Devon Monk, and Rob Thurman come to mind — but obviously it’s still on us to attract more women into the field, and make sure they get the recognition they deserve.

    Comment by John ONeill - June 17, 2014 10:22 am

Comments RSS  |  TrackBack URI


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Black Gate Home
This site © 2020 by New Epoch Press. All rights reserved.