New Treasures: Made To Order: Robots and Revolution edited by Jonathan Strahan

New Treasures: Made To Order: Robots and Revolution edited by Jonathan Strahan

Made To Order Robots and Revolution-small Made To Order Robots and Revolution-back-small

Cover by Blacksheep UK

A new anthology by Jonathan Strahan is always an event. He’s been editing Year’s Best volumes since 2003, for ibooks, the Science Fiction Book Club, Night Shade, and Solaris, and just announced the contents of the first volume of The Year’s Best Science Fiction from Saga Press (if that Facebook link doesn’t work for you, don’t worry about it; I’ll cover it in an upcoming Future Treasures post). He also edited the groundbreaking Infinity series for Solaris, seven volumes starting with Engineering Infinity (2010) and ending with Infinity’s End (2018), perhaps the most acclaimed original anthology series of the last decade.

His latest is Made To Order: Robots and Revolution, released yesterday by Solaris. Published on the 100th anniversary of the word “Robot” entering our modern lexicon, Made To Order contains brand new stories by Sofia Samatar, Peter Watts, Ken Liu, Sarah Pinsker, Alastair Reynolds, Peter F. Hamilton, Annalee Newitz, Suzanne Palmer, Ian R. MacLeod, Rich Larson, and others. (To get a sense of the spirit of this anthology, read the first story “A Guide for Working Breeds” by Vina Jie-Min Prasad, complete and completely free, at It’s a hilarious tale of two robot pals who couldn’t be more different, and it’s well worth your time.)

Here’s the complete Table of Contents.

Making the Other We Need by Jonathan Strahan
“A Guide for Working Breeds” by Vina Jie-Min Prasad
“Test 4 Echo” by Peter Watts
“The Endless” by Saad Z. Hossain
“Brother Rifle” by Daryl Gregory
“The Hurt Pattern” by Tochi Onyebuchi
“Idols” by Ken Liu
“Bigger Fish” by Sarah Pinsker
“Sonnie’s Union” by Peter F. Hamilton
“Dancing with Death” by John Chu
“Polished Performance” by Alastair Reynolds
“An Elephant Never Forgets” by Rich Larson
“The Translator” by Annalee Newitz
“Sin Eater” by Ian R. MacLeod
“Fairy Tales for Robots” by Sofia Samatar
“Chiaroscuro in Red” by Suzanne Palmer
“A Glossary of Radicalization” by Brooke Bolander

drowned-worlds-front-small drowned-worlds-back-small

Our previous coverage of Jonathan’s anthologies include:

Mission Critical (2019)
The Best of R. A. Lafferty (2019)
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Thirteen (2019)
Infinity Wars (2017)
Bridging Infinity (2016)
Meeting Infinity (2015)
How Science Fiction Was Saved by Solaris and Jonathan Strahan by Todd McAulty (2018)
Distinctive Visions of Earth After Climate Change: Drowned Worlds (2016)

Made To Order: Robots and Revolution was published by Solaris Books on March 17, 2020. It is 400 pages, priced at $11.99 in trade paperback and $6.99 in digital formats. The cover is by Blacksheep UK. See complete details here.

See all our coverage of the best new fantasy and science fiction here.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Allen Snyder

I just read “A Guide for Working Breeds” on Tor’s website yesterday, and I absolutely loved it.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x