The 2018 World Fantasy Award Winners

The 2018 World Fantasy Award Winners

The Changeling Victor LaValle-small Jade City Fonda Lee-small The New Voices of Fantasy-small

The World Fantasy Convention is always the highlight of my year, and the highlight of the convention is always the presentation of the World Fantasy Awards, among the most prestigious awards our field has to offer.

So it was a little frustrating that I had to leave the awards ceremony so early today to catch my flight. Fortunately, our on-the-spot correspondent Patty Templeton kept me up to date with minute-by-minute texts from the ceremony during my race to the airport. While there was plenty of excitement, the biggest news Patty had to share was that the big award for the evening, BEST NOVEL, was in fact a tie (“Hot dang!” texted Templeton), which hasn’t happened since 2009 when Jeff Ford and Margo Lanagan split the prize.

So without any further ado, here are the winners of the 2018 World Fantasy Awards.

Best Novel (tie)

WINNER: The Changeling, Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau)
WINNER: Jade City, Fonda Lee (Orbit)
The City of Brass, S.A. Chakraborty (Harper Voyager)
Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr, John Crowley (Saga)
The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter, Theodora Goss (Saga)
Spoonbenders, Daryl Gregory (Knopf)

Best Novella

WINNER: Passing Strange, Ellen Klages ( Publishing)
The Teardrop Method, Simon Avery (TTA)
In Calabria, Peter S. Beagle (Tachyon)
Mapping the Interior, Stephen Graham Jones ( Publishing)
The Black Tides of Heaven, JY Yang ( Publishing)

Best Short Story

WINNER: “The Birding: A Fairy Tale,” Natalia Theodoridou (Strange Horizons 12/18/17)
“Old Souls,” Fonda Lee (Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy)
“Welcome to Your Authentic Indian ExperienceTM,“ Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex 8/17)
“Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand,” Fran Wilde (Uncanny 9-10/17)
“Carnival Nine,” Caroline M. Yoachim (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 5/11/17)

Best Anthology

WINNER: The New Voices of Fantasy, Peter S. Beagle & Jacob Weisman, eds. (Tachyon)
Black Feathers, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Pegasus)
The Book of Swords, Gardner Dozois, ed. (Bantam; HarperCollins UK)
The Djinn Falls in Love and Other Stories, Mahvesh Murad & Jared Shurin, eds. (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
The Best of Subterranean, William Schafer, ed. (Subterranean)

Best Collection

WINNER: The Emerald Circus, Jane Yolen (Tachyon)
Wicked Wonders, Ellen Klages (Tachyon)
Her Body and Other Parties, Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf)
Down and Out in Purgatory: The Collected Stories of Tim Powers, Tim Powers (Baen)
Tender, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)

Best Artist

WINNER: Gregory Manchess
Victo Ngai
Omar Rayyan
Rima Staines
Fiona Staples

Special Award, Professional

WINNER: Harry Brockway, Patrick McGrath, and Danel Olson, for Writing Madness (Centipede)
C.C. Finlay, for F&SF editing
Irene Gallo, for art direction at Tor Books and
Greg Ketter, for DreamHaven Books
Leslie Klinger, for The New Annotated Frankenstein (Liveright)

Special Award, Non-Professional

WINNER: Justina Ireland & Troy L. Wiggins, for FIYAH
Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
Khaalidah Muhammad-Ali & Jen R Albert, for PodCastle
Ray B. Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus
Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny

The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented to individuals who have rendered outstanding service to the fantasy field, were awarded to Charles de Lint and Betsy Wollheim.

Special shout-out to Patty Templeton of the ace reporting. Thanks Patty!

See the complete list of nominees here, and last year’s winners here.

Read complete details at the World Fantasy Convention website.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x