Future Treasures: The Liberation, the Final Novel in The Alchemy Wars by Ian Tregillis

Future Treasures: The Liberation, the Final Novel in The Alchemy Wars by Ian Tregillis

the-mechanical-ian-tregillis-small the-rising-ian-tregillis-small the-liberation-ian-tregillis-small

Concerning Ian Tregillis, last year Howard Andrew Jones wrote:

Ian is an extremely gifted writer… I have to wait to read his books until I have a substantial amount of time in front of me, because I usually can’t stop reading once I begin… I power read the last two [of the Milkweed Triptych] because I couldn’t stand not knowing what happened next. Blew an entire writing day. His work is dangerous for me that way as few modern authors are.

High praise indeed from our Managing Editor. But he’s not alone in his assessment — Publishers Weekly called The Mechanical, the opening volume in his new trilogy, “Superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will… a gripping story,” and George R.R. Martin labeled Ian “A major talent” (a quote that’s been slapped on every single volume of The Alchemy Wars). Now the long-awaited third and final volume in the trilogy will finally be released next month by Orbit.

Ian’s previous work includes the Milkweed Triptych alternate history trilogy for Tor (Bitter Seeds, The Coldest War, and Necessary Evil), featuring Nazi supervillains versus British sorcerers, and Something More Than Night, a murder mystery set in heaven.

something-more-than-night-back-small something-more-than-night-small

The three volumes in The Alchemy Wars include:

The Mechanical (440 pages, $17 in trade paperback, $7.99 digital, March 10, 2015)
The Rising (443 pages, $16.99 trade paperback, $9.99 digital, December 1, 2015)
The Liberation (464 pages, $16.99 in trade paperback, $11.99 digital, December 6, 2016)

All three are published by Orbit, with covers by Lauren Panepinto.

Here’s the description for the first volume:

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

Our previous coverage of Ian Tregillis includes:

New Treasures: Bitter Seeds
New Treasures: Necessary Evil
Ian Tregillis on Secret Government Demonology, Writers Group Hazing Rituals, and Vlad Jetpack, King of the Space Vampires: An Audio Interview by Emily Mah
Future Treasures: The Rising

See all our recent coverage of the best in upcoming fantasy here.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I can vouch for this one. I got to read it in manuscript. It’s a brilliant conclusion to the series and just as unputdownable as its predecessors.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x