A Newly Completed Series: Heart of Dread by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston

A Newly Completed Series: Heart of Dread by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston

Heart of Dread Frozen-small Heart of Dread Stolen-small Heart of Dread Golden-small

The husband-and-wife team of Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston have some enviable successes under their belt, including the 8-volume Blue Blood series and the Witches of East End novels, which were adapted for the Lifetime network. On her own, de la Cruz is also the author of The Au Pairs series, Angels on Sunset Boulevard, Girl Stays in the Picture, and many others. Michael Johnston is no slouch on his own either — he just sold his epic fantasy series to Tor, and the opening volume appears next year.

Their coauthored YA trilogy Heart of Dread opened with Frozen (2013), set in an imaginatively conceived post-apocalyptic Las Vegas, frozen under the ice. The thought of another dystopian YA series puts me to sleep, but Frozen caught my attention. Check out the intriguing jacket copy and see if you agree.

Welcome to New Vegas, a city once covered in bling, now blanketed in ice. Like much of the destroyed planet, the place knows only one temperature — freezing. But some things never change. The diamond in the ice desert is still a 24-hour hedonistic playground and nothing keeps the crowds away from the casino floors, never mind the rumors about sinister sorcery in its shadows.

At the heart of this city is Natasha Kestal, a young blackjack dealer looking for a way out. Like many, she’s heard of a mythical land simply called “the Blue.” They say it’s a paradise, where the sun still shines and the waters are turquoise. More importantly, it’s a place where Nat won’t be persecuted, even if her darkest secret comes to light.

But passage to the Blue is treacherous, if not impossible, and her only shot is to bet on a ragtag crew of mercenaries led by a cocky runner named Ryan Wesson to take her there.

The second volume, Stolen, appeared in November 2014. And the third and final entry in the series, Golden, was published in hardcover by G.P. Putnam’s Sons on April 5.

One more popular series wrapped up. Time for cake!

If you’re looking for other complete series to enjoy, old and new, you can browse some of our series coverage from the past two months.

The Dagger and the Coin by Daniel Abraham
The Books of the Raksura by Martha Wells
The Duelists Trilogy by Julia Knight
The Wave Trilogy, by Aidan Harte
The Silistra Quartet by Janet Morris
The Pendulum Trilogy by Will Elliott
The Half-Light City by M.J. Scott
The ‘Mancer Series by Ferrett Steinmetz
The Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne by Brian Staveley
The Finnbranch Trilogy by Paul Hazel
The Monstrumologist Series by Rick Yancey
The Ever-Expanding Universe Trilogy by Martin Leicht and Isla Neal
The Bloodsounder’s Arc Trilogy by Jeff Salyards
The Birthgrave Trilogy by Tanith Lee
The Society of Blood by Mark Morris

See all of our latest coverage of Series Fantasy here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x