The 2014 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The 2014 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

A Natural History of Dragons A Memoir by Lady Trent-smallThe 2014 World Fantasy Awards Ballot, listing a bunch of books I haven’t read yet, has just been released.

The ballot is compiled by the voting attendees of the World Fantasy Convention, all of whom clearly read a lot more than I do. Seriously, where do you people find the time? Don’t you have blog posts to write, like normal people?

Once again, the coveted Life Achievement Award is being given to two recipients: Ellen Datlow and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro. I think this is a new trend. Last year, it was awarded to Susan Cooper and Tanith Lee. (I’ve read their books; at least that’s something.)

The winners in every other category will be selected by a panel of judges. Here’s the complete list of nominees, with links to the online stories (where available) and our previous coverage:

Life Achievement

  • Ellen Datlow
  • Chelsea Quinn Yarbro


  • Dust Devil on a Quiet Street, Richard Bowes (Lethe)
  • A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent, Marie Brennan (Tor)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Morrow)
  • A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)
  • The Golem and the Jinni, Helene Wecker (Harper)
  • The Land Across, Gene Wolfe (Tor)

Long Fiction

Dangerous Women George R.R. Martin Gardner DozoisShort Fiction


  • xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths, edited by Kate Bernheimer (Penguin)
  • Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling (Tor)
  • Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013, edited by Stephen Jones (Smith & Jones/PS Publishing)
  • Dangerous Women, edited by George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois (Tor)
  • The End of the Road, edited by Jonathan Oliver (Solaris)
  • Fearsome Journeys: The New Solaris Book of Fantasy, edited by Jonathan Strahan (Solaris)



  • Galen Dara
  • Zelda Devon
  • Julie Dillon
  • John Picacio
  • Charles Vess

Wonderbook The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction-smallSpecial Award – Professional

  • John Joseph Adams, for magazine and anthology editing
  • Ginjer Buchanan, for editing at Ace Books
  • Irene Gallo, for art direction of
  • William K. Schafer, for Subterranean Press
  • Jeff VanderMeer & Jeremy Zerfoss, for Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction

Special Award – Nonprofessional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Marc Aplin, Jennie Ivins & Paul Wiseall, for Fantasy-Faction
  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Leslie Howle, for Clarion West administration
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press

Congratulations to all the nominees! We hope you all win.

See the complete list of 2013 winners here.

Read complete details on the nominations at the World Fantasy Convention website.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sarah Avery

With that lovely list plus my review queue, my reading time is probably full until the day I arrive at the convention.

Sarah Avery

Wait, are you not going to World Fantasy this year? One of the things I’m most looking forward to about the con coming to my backyard is that I might get to meet some of the BG crew in person.

[…] the complete list of nominees here, and the 2013 […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x