2013 World Fantasy Award Winners Announced

2013 World Fantasy Award Winners Announced

alif-the-unseenYou’d think that, since I’m unable to attend World Fantasy this year, they’d keep the convention low key. I mean, no sense rubbing it in, right?

No such luck. I hear there was just as much excitement, just as many panels, and just as many fabulous parties as always. It’s like they don’t care.

They even gave out just as many awards as usual. Well, even if I couldn’t attend, at least I can read the same award-winning fantasy as everyone else. See, that’s what’s great about awards — they’re fair to everybody.

This year’s winners of the World Fantasy Awards are:



  • “Let Maps to Others,” K.J. Parker (Subterranean, Summer 2012)

Short Story:

  • “The Telling,” Gregory Norman Bossert (Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Nov 29, 2012)


  • Postscripts #28/#29: Exotic Gothic 4, Danel Olson, ed. (PS Publishing)


  • Where Furnaces Burn, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)

Postscripts 28 29 Exotic Gothic 4-smallArtist:

  • Vincent Chong

Special Award Professional:

  • Lucia Graves, for the translation of The Prisoner of Heaven (Harper) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • S.T. Joshi for Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction, Volumes 1 & 2 (PS Publishing)

Life Achievement:

  • Susan Cooper
  • Tanith Lee

See the complete list of nominees here, and the 2012 winners here.

Read complete details at the World Fantasy Convention website.

Congratulations to all the winners — and especially Gregory Norman Bossert, and our friends at Beneath Ceaseless Skies for their first World Fantasy win. Great work, guys!

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
James McGlothlin

I love Joshi, but his two volume Unutterable Horror has gotten some fairly rough reviews.

Joshi is without doubt the Lovecraft scholar exemplar. But I’m not sure that Unutterable Horror is his finest work.

Nevertheless, I’m glad he got this award. I don’t know if he’s ever been recognized before by World Fantasy and he definitely deserves to have the Lovecraft head on his shelf if anyone does.

James McGlothlin


I’m not completely sure about that actually. Maybe Joshi has already won before. I’ve just never heard him mentioned in connection with it and you know how it is in these circles: “John X is Hugo nominated, Campbell award winning author . . .” etc. etc.

[…] Press accomplished just last year with G. Willow Wilson’s Alif the Unseen, which won the World Fantasy Award in […]

[…] See the complete list of nominees here, and the 2013 winners here. […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x