Return Home

2013 Nebula Award Winners Announced

Sunday, May 18th, 2014 | Posted by John ONeill

Ancillary Justice Ann Leckie-smallThe 2013 Nebula Awards were presented yesterday at a solemn SFWA ceremony in downtown San Jose. Folklore tells us these events occur at carefully planned intervals every year, but I suspect the truth is that Nebula Awards erupt spontaneously whenever a critical mass of science fiction and fantasy writers gather together. Like bar fights and flash mobs.

Here’s the complete list of winners.


Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit)


“The Weight of the Sunrise,” Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s SF, February 2013)


“The Waiting Stars,” Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky, Candlemark & Gleam)

Short Story

“If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love,” Rachel Swirsky (Apex, March 2013)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation


Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

Sister Mine, Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central)

Samuel R. Delany received the Grand Master Award (now called the Damon Knight Grand Master Award) for lifetime achievement — well deserved, and I admit I’m surprised it took so long.

Michael Armstrong was given the Service Award — now named the Kevin O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award, in honor of Kevin O’Donnell, who passed away last year — for his tireless work with the Grievance Committee.

The nominations for the 2013 Nebula Award were announced in February and we reported on last year’s winners here.

Congratulations to all the winners!


  1. No white anglo-saxon males? No men at all? Tsk, tsk.

    Comment by Aonghus Fallon - May 18, 2014 1:03 pm

  2. About time, Aonghus. Frankly, I think men ruin everything.

    Comment by John ONeill - May 18, 2014 3:50 pm

  3. The credited screenwriters for Gravity are Alfonso Cuaron and Jonas Cuaron, with acknowledged but not credited script collaboration from George Clooney. All guys, and George Clooney’s ancestry includes Angles and Saxons, along with several flavors of Celts. So if you really want to get nitpicky, I see five female writers getting awards for recent work, three male writers getting an award for recent work, and a male writer being honored as a Grand Master on the basis of a decades-long career.

    Comment by Sarah Avery - May 20, 2014 1:03 am

  4. […] See last year’s Nebula nominations here, and the winners here. […]

    Pingback by SFWA Announces the 2014 Nebula Award Nominations | Publisher Monitoring Platform - February 25, 2015 1:43 pm

Comments RSS  |  TrackBack URI


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Black Gate Home
This site © 2020 by New Epoch Press. All rights reserved.