SFWA Announces the 2019 Nebula Award Nominations

SFWA Announces the 2019 Nebula Award Nominations

The Ten Thousand Doors of January-small Gods of Jade and Shadow-small Gideon the Ninth-small

It’s nearly the end of February. And that means that the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) has finally put an end to all that suspense, and announced the nominees for the 2019 Nebula Awards, one of the most prestigious awards our industry has to offer.

This year’s nominees are:


Marque of Caine, Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Alix E. Harrow (Redhook; Orbit UK)
A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine (Tor)
Gods of Jade and Shadow, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey; Jo Fletcher)
Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir (Tor.com Publishing)
A Song for a New Day, Sarah Pinsker (Berkley)

[CLick the images for nebula-sized versions.]


“Anxiety Is the Dizziness of Freedom,” Ted Chiang (Exhalation)
The Haunting of Tram Car 015, P. Djèlí Clark (Tor.com Publishing)
This Is How You Lose the Time War, Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone (Saga)
Her Silhouette, Drawn in Water, Vylar Kaftan (Tor.com Publishing)
The Deep, Rivers Solomon, with Daveed Diggs, William Hutson & Jonathan Snipes (Saga)
Catfish Lullaby, A.C. Wise (Broken Eye)

Her Silhouette, Drawn in Water-small The Deep Rivers Solomon-small The-Outer-Worlds-small


“A Strange Uncertain Light,” G.V. Anderson (F&SF 7-8/19)
“For He Can Creep,” Siobhan Carroll (Tor.com 7/10/19)
“His Footsteps, Through Darkness and Light,” Mimi Mondal (Tor.com 1/23/19)
“The Blur in the Corner of Your Eye,” Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 7-8/19)
Carpe Glitter, Cat Rambo (Meerkat)
“The Archronology of Love”, Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed 4/19)

Short Story

“Give the Family My Love,” A.T. Greenblatt (Clarkesworld 2/19)
“The Dead, In Their Uncontrollable Power,” Karen Osborne (Uncanny 3-4/19)
“And Now His Lordship Is Laughing,” Shiv Ramdas (Strange Horizons 9/9/19)
“Ten Excerpts from an Annotated Bibliography on the Cannibal Women of Ratnabar Island,” Nibedita Sen (Nightmare 5/19)
“A Catalog of Storms,” Fran Wilde (Uncanny 1-2/19)
“How the Trick Is Done,” A.C. Wise (Uncanny 7-8/19)

Game Writing

Outer Wilds, Kelsey Beachum (Mobius Digital)
The Outer Worlds, Leonard Boyarsky, Megan Starks, Kate Dollarhyde & Chris L’Etoile (Obsidian Entertainment)
The Magician’s Workshop, Kate Heartfield (Choice of Games)
Disco Elysium, Robert Kurvitz (ZA/UM)
Fate Accessibility Toolkit, Elsa Sjunneson-Henry (Evil Hat Productions)

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe-small Cog by Greg van Eekhout and Beatrice Blue-small Dragon Pearl-small

Ray Bradbury Award

Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Good Omens: “Hard Times”
The Mandalorian: “The Child”
Russian Doll: “The Way Out”
Watchmen: “A God Walks into Abar”

Andre Norton Award

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe, Carlos Hernandez (Disney Hyperion)
Catfishing on CatNet, Naomi Kritzer (Tor Teen)
Dragon Pearl, Yoon Ha Lee (Disney Hyperion)
Peasprout Chen: Battle of Champions, Henry Lien (Holt)
Cog, Greg van Eekhout (Harper)
Riverland, Fran Wilde (Amulet)

The winners will be announced at the Nebula Awards Weekend at the Marriott Warner Center, Woodland Hills CA, on Saturday, May 30, 2020.

Last year’s winners and nominees are here.

Read complete details on this year’s award recipients at the SFWA Nebula Awards web page.

Congratulations to all the nominees! We hope you all win.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

A lovely cover on ‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January’, but I’d think it was misplaced if I saw it in the SF and Fantasy section of my bookstore, and I’ve worked for several bookstores over the years. I could see it on the front table of a book store with other mainstream new releases.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x