Celebrating a Decade of Excellence: Clarkesworld Year Ten, Volumes One & Two, edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace

Celebrating a Decade of Excellence: Clarkesworld Year Ten, Volumes One & Two, edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace

Clarkesworld Year Ten Volume One-small Clarkesworld Year Ten Volume Two-small

Covers by Shichigoro-Shingo and Rudy Faber

Clarkesworld editors Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace have had a busy year.

For one thing, they’ve published a full 12 issues of one of the most acclaimed science fiction magazines on the planet. For another, there’s all those conventions, nominations, and shiny awards to keep them occupied — including a Best Editor Hugo nomination for Neil, a Hugo nomination for Simone Heller’s “When We Were Starless” (Clarkesworld 145, October 2018), and a World Fantasy Award win for Kij Johnson’s novella “The Privilege of the Happy Ending” (Clarkesworld, Aug. 2018). On top of that, Neil was presented with the 2019 Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award for distinguished contributions to the science fiction community at the Nebula awards weekend in May, one more award to polish on his mantlepiece.

They also have their own projects — Sean edits the fine magazine The Dark and runs Prime Books, and Neil has produced a pair of anthologies this year, The Best Science Fiction of the Year: Volume Four and The Eagle Has Landed: 50 Years of Lunar Science Fiction.

But in addition to all of that, Neil and Sean are also keeping up a hectic pace of Clarkesworld annual anthology volumes — four in the past two months alone. Clarkesworld Year Ten, Volumes One & Two, containing a year’s worth of fabulous tales from 2015 & 2016, were published on October 3, 2019; Clarkesworld Year Ten, Volumes One & Two followed less than a month later, on November 1, 2019. I’m not sure how they do it, but someone should create an award for science fiction overachievement, and give it to both of them. If they can get either one of them to stop moving long enough to accept it.

[Click the images to embiggen.]

Let’s start with a look at Clarkesworld: Year Ten.

In total, Year Ten gathers 537 stories originally published in 2015 & 2016, including the Hugo and Sturgeon nominee “Touring with the Alien” by Carolyn Ives Gilman, the Nebula and Sturgeon nominee “Things with Beards” by Sam J. Miller, and three novellas, all translated from the Chinese: “The Snow of Jinyang” by Zhang Ran, “Chimera” by Gu Shi, and “Everybody Loves Charles” by Bao Shu.

Here’s the complete TOC.

Volume One

Introduction by Neil Clarke
“Extraction Request” by Rich Larson
“The Algorithms of Value” by Robert Reed
“The Abduction of Europa” by E. Catherine Tobler
“Seven Cups of Coffee” by A.C. Wise
“Chimera” by Gu Shi
“Morrigan in Shadow” by Seth Dickinson
“Yuanyuan’s Bubbles” by Cixin Liu
“Union” by Tamsyn Muir
“The Fixer” by Paul McAuley
“When We Die on Mars” by Cassandra Khaw
“The Father” by Kola Heyward-Rotimi
“Egg Island” by Karen Heuler
“Your Right Arm” by Nin Harris
“That Which Stands Tends Toward Free Fall” by Benjanun Sriduangkaew
“Salvage Opportunity” by Jack Skillingstead
“The Hexagonal Bolero of Honeybees” by Krista Hoeppner Leahy
“The Governess with a Mechanical Womb” by Leena Likitalo
“Between Dragons and Their Wrath” by An Owomoyela and Rachel Swirsky
“If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler” by Xia Jia
“Coyote Invents the Land of the Dead” by Kij Johnson
“In the Queue for the Worldship Munawwer” by Sara Saab
“In the Midst of Life” by Nick Wolven
“And If the Body Were Not the Soul” by A.C. Wise
“Ice” by Rich Larson
“Everybody Loves Charles” by Bao Shu
“Summer at Grandma’s House” by Hao Jingfang
“So Much Cooking” by Naomi Kritzer
About the Authors
Clarkesworld Census
About Clarkesworld

Complete details at Neil Clarke’s blog.

Volume Two

Introduction by Neil Clarke
“And Then, One Day, the Air was Full of Voices” by Margaret Ronald
“Against the Stream” by A Que
“Jonas and the Fox” by Rich Larson
“The Bridge of Dreams” by Gregory Feeley
“Balin” by Chen Qiufan
“Now is the Hour” by Emily Devenport
“The House of Half Mirrors” by Thoraiya Dyer
“Aphrodite’s Blood, Decanted” by Jennifer Campbell-Hicks
“The Opposite and the Adjacent” by Liu Yang
“The Universal Museum of Sagacity” by Robert Reed
“The Cedar Grid” by Sara Saab
“Alone, on the Wind” by Karla Schmidt
“Breathe” by Cassandra Khaw
“The Sentry Branch Predictor Spec: A Fairy Tale” by John Chu
“Teenagers from Outer Space” by Dale Bailey
“Sephine and the Leviathan” by Jack Schouten
“Fish Dance” by Eric Schwitzgebel
“Left Behind” by Cat Rambo
“Toward the Luminous Towers” by Bogi Takács
“Reclamation” by Ryan Row
“Helio Music” by Mike Buckley
“Away from Home” by Luo Longxiang
“The Green Man Cometh” by Rich Larson
“The Engines Imperial” by Sean Bensinger
“.identity” by E. Catherine Tobler
“The Despoilers” by Jack Skillingstead
“The Snow of Jinyang” by Zhang Ran
“First Light at Mistaken Point” by Kali Wallace
“Things With Beards” by Sam J. Miller
“Touring with the Alien” by Carolyn Ives Gilman
About the Authors
Clarkesworld Census
About Clarkesworld

Complete details here.

Both volumes were published by Neil Clarke’s Wyrm Publishing. Every copy sold helps support the magazine, which is a fine cause. If you’re on the hunt for a last-minute Christmas gift for the discerning science fiction fan in your life, these books should top your list.

Here’s the publishing details.

Clarkesworld: Year Ten, Volume One (408 pages, $17.95 in trade paperback/$6.99 digital, October 3, 2019) — cover by Shichigoro-Shingo
Clarkesworld: Year Ten, Volume Two (451 pages, $17.99 in trade paperback/$6.99 digital, October 3, 2019) — cover by Rudy Faber

The first two volumes in the series were titled Realms; Nick Mamatas and Sean Wallace were credited as editors. It then switched to Clarkesworld: Year 3, edited by Neil and Sean, and kept that convention for the next eight. Here they are.

Clarkesworld-Realms-medium Realms 2 The Second Year of Clarkesworld Magazine-small Clarkesworld-Year-Three-small

Cover art by Rolando Cyril, Aaron Jasinski, and Pascal Blanché


Clarkesworld-Year-Four-small Clarkesworld-Year-Five-medium Clarkesworld-Year-Six-medium

Cover art by Georgi Markov, Ferdinand D. Ladera, and Martin Faragasso


Clarkesworld-Year-Seven-smll Clarkesworld-Year-Eight-medium

Cover art by Alexandru Popescu and Matt Dixon


Clarkesworld-Year-Nine-Volume-One-medium Clarkesworld-Year-Nine-Volume-Two-medium

Cover art by Lake Hurwitz and Liu Junwei

We’ve covered four previous volumes in the series so far:

Clarkesworld: Year Six edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace
Clarkesworld: Year Seven edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace
Clarkesworld: Year Eight edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace
Clarkesworld: Year Nine, Volumes One and Two edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace

Next up: Clarkesworld: Year Eleven, Volumes One and Two, already available for your reading enjoyment!

Check out the latest issue of Clarkesworld here, and see all our recent Magazine coverage here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x