Return Home

New Treasures: The Light of All That Falls, Book 3 of the Licanius Trilogy by James Islington

Sunday, December 22nd, 2019 | Posted by John ONeill

The-Shadow-of-What-Was-Lost-small An Echo of Things to Come-small The Light of All That Falls-small

Covers by Dominick Saponaro

Three long years ago, in November 2016, Jim Killen at the B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog shared his thoughts on The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Books of the month. Based on his rec I purchased the debut novel by James Islington, The Shadow of What Was Lost, volume one of what was to become the Licanius Trilogy at some nebulous point in the future.

Low and behold, the future is here. The second book, An Echo of Things to Come, arrived in August 2017, and now the final volume, The Light of All That Falls, appeared on December 10. Just in time to keep me company over my long Christmas break! What did Killen say all those years ago that got me so interested? I had to go look it up this morning:

The Shadow of What Was Lost feels old-fashioned in the best of ways, molding familiar genre traditions into something wholly unique. In a world where the magical class has been overthrown, hunted, and subjugated, the struggle cannot simply be divided between magic and mundane or human and divine. The evil that encroaches Andarra, the center of the action, is neither simple, singly focused, or, for that matter, definitively evil. It’s been 20 years since the Unseen War, which overthrew the Augurs, powerful and portentous demigods. Those who once feared and obeyed the them rose up, wiping out the leaders and binding those with lesser magical abilities, the Gifted, to Four Tenets that restrict the use of their powers. Davian, a student of the Gifted, struggles to wield Essence, the magic that should sustain and flow through him with ease, but can “read” people to determine whether they’re telling the truth, a power that once belonged only to the Augurs. That’s a dangerous association for one raised in a world endlessly suspicious of those with abilities outside the norm. But as forces long thought defeated descend from the North, Devian’s quest to understand who he is and what he can do takes on greater urgency than he can comprehend.

Here’s the complete publishing details for all three.

The Shadow of What Was Lost originally appeared in 2014 from Aslaradis Publishing, before it was picked up for international distribution by Orbit.

The Shadow of What Was Lost (704 pages, $26 in hardcover, $16.99 in paperback, and $9.99 in digital formats, November 10, 2016)
An Echo of Things to Come (752 pages, $26 in hardcover, $17.99 in paperback, and $11.99 in digital formats, August 22, 2017)
The Light of All That Falls (864 pages, $29 in hardcover, and $14.99 in digital formats, December 10, 2019)

All three books were published by Orbit. The cover art is by Dominick Saponaro.

See all our recent coverage of the best new fantasy series here.


  1. Dominick Saponaro’s cover art is beautiful.

    Comment by SELindberg - December 27, 2019 11:55 am

  2. It’s very distinctive, isn’t it? I wonder if he’s done any other fantasy covers.

    Comment by John ONeill - December 29, 2019 3:06 pm

Comments RSS  |  TrackBack URI


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Black Gate Home
This site © 2020 by New Epoch Press. All rights reserved.