Monsters, Magic & Mystery: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Monsters, Magic & Mystery: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone-small Siege and Storm-small Ruin and Rising-small

I first discovered Leigh Bardugo with the bestselling Six of Crows and its sequel Crooked Kingdom, the acclaimed fantasy caper novels described as ““Harry Potter meets Game of Thrones.” And then I discovered Bardugo had a previous bestselling fantasy series set in the same world, The Grisha Trilogy, featuring monster hunting, mysterious magic, and a pseudo Imperial-Russia setting. That’s an irresistible combo right there.

The New York Times Book Review said, in their review of the opening volume Shadow and Bone, “Bardugo’s setup is shiver-inducing, of the delicious variety. This is what fantasy is for.” All three volumes in the series are available in paperback from a publisher called Square Fish (?), a Macmillam imprint.

There’s a lengthy excerpt from Shadow and Bone at While you chew that over, here’s the back covers for all three volumes.

[Click for bigger images.]

Shadow and Bone-back-small Siege and Storm-back-small Ruin and Rising-back-small

Here’s the complete publishing details:

Shadow and Bone (358 pages, June 5, 2012)
Siege and Storm (435 pages, June 4, 2013)
Ruin and Rising (432 pages, June 17, 2014)

All three books are $19.99 in hardcover, $10.99 in paperback, and $7.80 in digital format. The covers are by Jen Wang.

See all our latest coverage of Series Fantasy here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x