Future Treasures: The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson

Future Treasures: The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson

Mistborn novels Brandon Sanderson-small

The first three novels in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy — The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages — were published between 2006-08 by Tor Books. In 2011, Sanderson returned to the world of Mistborn with The Alloy of Law. Set after the trilogy, in a period corresponding to late 19th-century America, the spinoff books became New York Times bestsellers. Now, hot on the heels of last year’s Shadows of Self, (which we covered here), he continues the tale with The Bands of Mourning.

The Bands of Mourning are the mythical metalminds owned by the Lord Ruler, said to grant anyone who wears them the powers that the Lord Ruler had at his command. Hardly anyone thinks they really exist. A kandra researcher has returned to Elendel with images that seem to depict the Bands, as well as writings in a language that no one can read. Waxillium Ladrian is recruited to travel south to the city of New Seran to investigate. Along the way he discovers hints that point to the true goals of his uncle Edwarn and the shadowy organization known as The Set.

The Bands of Mourning will be published by Tor Books on January 26, 2016. It is 448 pages, priced at $27.99 in hardcover, or $14.99 for the digital edition. The cover is by Chris McGrath.

Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Thanks again for the wonderful copy of THE BANDS OF MOURNING! And it’s a signed copy!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x