Return Home

Last Chance to Get a Free Copy of Mysterion: Rediscovering the Mysteries of the Christian Faith

Sunday, August 28th, 2016 | Posted by John ONeill

Mysterion-smallTwo weeks ago we told you that Enigmatic Mirror Press was offering free review copies of the new anthology Mysterion: Rediscovering the Mysteries of the Christian Faith in digital format to Black Gate readers, in return for honest reviews (e.g., at Amazon, Goodreads, etc.) There’s still time to get in on the offer, but you have to act fast.

What is Mysterion? It’s a groundbreaking anthology of Christian fantasy, edited by Black Gate author Donald Crankshaw (“A Phoenix in Darkness“) and his wife Kristin Janz. It will be released this week, and contains original fiction from Beth Cato, Pauline J. Alama, Stephen Case, David Tallerman, and many others. Here’s the description:

The Christian faith is filled with mystery, from the Trinity and the Incarnation to the smaller mysteries found in some of the strange and unexplained passages of the Bible: Behemoth and Leviathan, nephilim and seraphim, heroes and giants and more. There is no reason for fiction engaging with Christianity to be more tidy and theologically precise than the faith itself.

Here you will find challenging fantasy, science fiction, and horror stories that wrestle with tough questions and refuse to provide easy answers or censored depictions of a broken world, characters whose deeds are as obscene as their words and people who meet bad ends — sometimes deserved and sometimes not. But there are also hope, grace, and redemption, though even they can burn like fire.

Join us as we rediscover the mysteries of the Christian faith.

If you’re willing to read the book and provide a review, just send an e-mail to john@blackgate.com with the subject “Mysterion,” and we’ll forward it along to the publisher. But we must receive your request before the publication date.

Mysterion: Rediscovering the Mysteries of the Christian Faith will be published by Enigmatic Mirror Press on August 31, 2016. It is 324 pages, priced at $9.99 in digital format. See the complete Table of Contents here.

3 Comments »

  1. Y’know what? The folks at the Mythopoeic Society gave my very Pagan book a chance, and were willing to consider it in the tradition of Tolkien and Lewis, with their very Christian spirituality. So I would be happy to give Mysterion a chance, and if I can say that it speaks to a wider audience that includes Christians but isn’t limited to them — which is my working hypothesis — I’ll shout it from the rooftops.

    My kids start school tomorrow, so I can finally start writing reviews of the books I’ve been reading for BG all summer. Oh, the productivity!

    Comment by Sarah Avery - August 28, 2016 11:00 am

  2. Excellent! I will pass that along to Donald and Kristin.

    Comment by John ONeill - August 28, 2016 7:06 pm

  3. Sarah, we were definitely trying to put together a book that would have a broader audience than just Christians, ideally anyone who likes speculative fiction dealing with religious and spiritual themes. So we’d love to send you a copy, and hear your feedback on how successful we were in doing that!

    Just a minor correction to John’s post, though: Beth Cato’s story is a reprint, not original to our anthology. (We have 16 original stories and 4 reprints.)

    Comment by kristinjanz - September 2, 2016 2:55 pm


Comments RSS  |  TrackBack URI

 

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Black Gate Home
This site © 2018 by New Epoch Press. All rights reserved.