Future Treasures: Spectacle, Book 2 of The Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

Future Treasures: Spectacle, Book 2 of The Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

Rachel Vincent Menagerie-small Rachel Vincent Spectacle-small

Rachel Vincent is the author of the bestselling Shifters series, an urban fantasy series about a female werecat, and the Unbound trilogy, about a paranormal tracker. Her YA Soul Screamer series, featuring a high school girl who discovers she’s a banshee, has grown to an impressive 8 novels.

Her new adult fantasy series about carnival magic debuted with Menagerie in October 2015. The second volume, Spectacle, arrives in trade paperback on May 30. Here’s the description for the first volume.

When Delilah Marlow visits a famous traveling carnival, Metzger’s Menagerie, she is an ordinary woman in a not-quite-ordinary world. But under the macabre circus big-top, she discovers a fierce, sharp-clawed creature lurking just beneath her human veneer. Captured and put on exhibition, Delilah is stripped of her worldly possessions, including her own name, as she’s forced to “perform” in town after town.

But there is breathtaking beauty behind the seamy and grotesque reality of the carnival. Gallagher, her handler, is as kind as he is cryptic and strong. The other “attractions” — mermaids, minotaurs, griffins and kelpies — are strange, yes, but they share a bond forged by the brutal realities of captivity. And as Delilah struggles for her freedom, and for her fellow menagerie, she’ll discover a strength and a purpose she never knew existed.

And here’s the description for Spectacle.

When their coup of Metzger’s Menagerie is discovered, Delilah and her fellow cryptids find their newly won freedom brutally stripped away as they are sold into The Savage Spectacle, a private collection of “exotic wildlife.” Specializing in ruthless cryptid cage matches, safari-style creature hunts and living party favors, the Spectacle’s owner, Willem Vandekamp, caters to the forbidden fetishes of the wealthy and powerful. At the Spectacle, any wish can be granted — for the right price.

But Vandekamp’s closely guarded client list isn’t the only secret being kept at the Spectacle. Beneath the beauty and brutality of life in the collection lie much darker truths, and no one is more determined than Delilah to strip the masks from the human monsters and drag all dark things into the light.

Both books were published by Mira. Here’s the details.

Menagerie (480 pages, $26.99 hardcover/$15.99 paperback/$7.49 digital, September 29, 2015)
Spectacle (400 pages, $15.99 in paperback/$7.99 digital, May 30, 2017)

See all our recent coverage of the best in upcoming fantasy here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x