New Treasures: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

New Treasures: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

Rooms Lauren Oliver-small Rooms Lauren Oliver-back-small

Ah, October. When suddenly you’re not the only one on your block reading ghost stories. It’s the one month a year when my reading choices actually feel normal.

Lauren Oliver is the author of a series of bestselling YA novels, including Vanishing Girls, Before I Fall, and the Delirium Trilogy. Her latest, Rooms, is something very different: an adult ghost story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones and The Ocean at the End of the Lane, a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery. Caroline and her two children move into the home of her ex-husband after his death, but what they find is not what they expected… including the ghosts of two long-dead strangers, Alice and Sandra, with secrets of their own.

Rooms was published in hardcover by Ecco in September 2014, and reprinted in trade paperback on September 15, 2015. It is 320 pages and priced at $14.99, or $9.99 for the digital edition. The cover is by Jeffrey Alan Love. Click on the above images for bigger versions.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Aonghus Fallon

I reckon my favourite Jeffrey Alan Love cover is still that monoprint he did for for Simon Ings’ ‘Wolves’.

Aonghus Fallon

That’s the one! Part of its charm (for me) is its sheer simplicity. I’m guessing Love just rolled out some black ink onto a sheet of glass, wiped away what he didn’t want, then transferred it onto paper – five minutes’ work, tops. And why not? The concept is what counts.

3
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x