A Dance With Dragons wins the 2012 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

A Dance With Dragons wins the 2012 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

a-dance-with-dragonsThe winners of the 2012 Locus Awards were announced today:

Fantasy Novel — A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin
Science Fiction Novel — Embassytown, China Miéville
First Novel — The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern
Young Adult Book — The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente
Novella — “Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA; Clarkesworld)
Novelette — “White Lines on a Green Field”, Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean Fall ’11)
Short Story — “The Case of Death and Honey”, Neil Gaiman (A Study in Sherlock)
Anthology — The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Twenty-eighth Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
Collection — The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers
Non-fiction — Evaporating Genres: Essays on Fantastic Literature, Gary K. Wolfe
Art Book — Spectrum 18, Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner
Artist — Shaun Tan
Editor — Ellen Datlow
Magazine — Asimov’s Science Fiction
Publisher — Tor

The Locus Awards are presented annually to winners of Locus Magazine’s readers’ poll. The award was first given in 1971; last year’s fantasy winner was Kraken, by China Miéville. We reported on the 2011 awards here.

Congratulations to the winners, and special congratulations to Cat Valente for sweeping three categories: Young Adult Book, Novelette  and Novella.

Complete details on the 2012 winners, including all the nominees, are available at Locus Online.

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Make that a triple crown victory for Cat, John…Novelette, Novella, & YA. Would have been sweet if she’d won for Best F Novel too…

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x